University of Benghazi جامعة بنغازي

The Libyan University is the former name of the first Libyan university established in the city of Benghazi with the issuance of the law establishing the university on Thursday, December 15, 1955. The university started its career according to the following stations: On Sunday January 22, 1956, the university was officially opened On Monday January 23, 1956, the study actually began the university began its career in the College of Arts and Education and received (31) students who were supervised by (6) faculty members, assisted by (9) employees in managing the university.

1957 The Faculty of Commerce and Economics was established.

1962 Established, College of Law.

On October 6, 1968, the foundation stone for the University City was laid.

1970 established the College of Human Medicine

1970 Faculty of Arabic Language and Islamic Studies, located in Al-Bayda.

August 1973 The name of the university was changed to Benghazi University.

1973 The College of Engineering was established.

1974 The College of Oral and Dental Medicine and the College of Sciences were established.

1974 The university moved from its old headquarters in the city of Benghazi to its current headquarters in the University City in the Garyounis region.

1975 The College of Agriculture was established.

1976 its name was changed from Benghazi University to Garyounis University.

In September 1984, the medical faculties were combined into one university under the name “Arab Medical University.”

1989 The College of Pharmacy was established.

1994 The College of Public Health was established.

1999 Medical faculties were rejoined to Garyounis University.

2004 established the College of Education.

2006 Established the Faculty of Information Technology.

2007 Medical colleges separated again under the name “Arab Medical University”.

2007 Established the College of Nursing.

February 17, 2011 The name is returned again to (University of Benghazi). And the medical colleges joined it.

2011 Established the Faculty of Information.

2015 Established the College of Technical Medical Sciences.

2019 Established the Faculty of Physical Education and the Faculty of Languages.

Share This Venue
Venue Details
Working Hours
  • Weekdays
    08:00 AM
Venue Details
Working Hours
  • Weekdays
    08:00 AM
Venue Map